Local Foundation Leadership



Dr. Fran Witt, President and CEO, Effingham Health System

Fran Witt, DNP, MBA, LNHA, RN, has been recognized recently as one of the Top 50 Most Influential Clinicians in the U.S. by Modern Healthcare magazine and as one of the Top 75 Black leaders in healthcare to know by Becker’s Hospital Review. Following a career in nursing at various major health systems, then over 17 years in management and executive positions, including at Grady Health System in Atlanta, Dr. Witt joined EHS to transform the healthcare system. Her vision and leadership have led to the opening of Effingham Pediatrics, Effingham Cancer Care Center, Effingham Cardiology, and Effingham Orthopaedics. She also introduced the da Vinci Robotic Surgery technology and the area’s first school-based telemedicine program.  Her focus is on providing quality healthcare closer to home. The launch of EHS’ new state-of-the-art Electronic Health Record platform is one more example of how Effingham Health System is setting the standard for the future of rural healthcare under her leadership.

Elizabeth Waters, Foundation Director

A native of Effingham County, Elizabeth Waters has made it her mission to serve this community and make a positive impact.  She is a graduate of The University of Georgia with a degree in Marketing.  Her twelve-year career in banking provides great insight and networking opportunities when she transitioned to the non-profit sector, becoming the Area Director for United Way of the Coastal Empire in Effingham County.  She recently joined the team at Effingham Health System Foundation as the Director. Elizabeth’s focus is on educating our community about the incredible value of Effingham Health System while raising funds that will ensure future expansion to meet our community’s growing needs.  She is a member of the Effingham Chamber of Commerce, Secretary for the Effingham Rotary Club, Vice Chair for the Effingham Victim Witness Assistance Program, and a member of Springfield Oaks Church.  Her pride and joy are her two boys, who keep her busy.

EHS Foundation Board of Directors (2022-2023)

James Carlson, Chairman (above)

Jamie DeLoach, Vice Chairman

Julie Hales, Treasurer

Dayle Burns

Lon Harden

Nicole Rahn

Tara Robinson

Sonja Scott

Alex Wynn, MD

Development Council Community Volunteer Teams

The Effingham Health System Foundation Development Council is made up of community volunteers dedicated specifically to generating charitable support for Effingham Health System. These committed volunteer leaders enable the Foundation to generate meaningful philanthropy support to help ensure the very best healthcare possible for the community.

  • Annual Gifts Team

    Julie Hales, Chair
    Lindsay Barnard
    Destiny Bradshaw
    Jason Bragg
    Carmen Cribbs
    Brooke Graham
    Monica Hester
    Lisa Ortiz
    Lucy Powell
    Cindy Shuman
    Joy Woods

  • Business Gifts Team

    Glen Montgomery, Chair
    Trisha Boyett
    Ashley Boyette
    Dayle Burns
    Ellen Gehrke
    Lon Harden
    Carl Heindel
    Tori Johnson
    Tee Kelley
    Amy Moore
    Tamela Mydell
    Heather Riggs
    Mia Thompson
    Henry Walker
    Shondtel Walker

  • Planned Gifts Team

    Jamie DeLoach, Co-Chair
    Jeremy Herren, Co-Chair
    Ben Williams
    Chris Murphy

  • Special Gifts Team

    Troy Allen, Chair
    Kent Elmore
    Ali Graham
    Tara Hart

  • Signature Gifts Team

    Nicole Rahn, Chair